Fleur de Sel caramel

Fleur de Sel caramel

First off, let me just say that this review is biased because A) I love fleur de sel caramels *and* any sweet/salty dessert and B) I have been coveting a pint of this ice cream for about 2 weeks now and dug into it like a hungry wolf

[cue Duran Duran's Hungry like the Wolf]

Ok, now that I’ve gotten the disclaimer out of the way, I can dig into the meat and potatoes of this review: I LOVED this ice cream…more than any precocious-sounding adjectives could describe. There are just no words. Simply put, taking a bite of this ice cream was like having a party in my mouth…complete with dancing taste buds.

From the Haagen-Dazs website:

Fleur de Sel caramels covered in a chocolaty coating blended into caramel ice cream with caramel ribbons and French sea salt accents. Crisp, salty nuances harmonize with rich, creamy caramel for the ultimate combination of sweet and salty.

                                                                                                                                                            

I will say that after being completely immoderate and eating the entire container for dinner, the saltiness was a bit overpowering. But I’m sure that, with appropriate serving sizes and restraint, this tiny flaw in the ice cream would not have been apparent. I also found the chocolate to not really add anything to the experience; it certainly didn’t detract but I’m just not a milk chocolate girl. And mainly, the flavor was truly just as the description illustrates: sweet and salty harmonizing together in a creamy caramel ice cream.

I give Haagen-dazs fleur de sel caramel a 4 out of 5, mostly because I am a chocolate snob and a tiny part of me was wishing for dark chocolate instead of milk chocolate. But overall, an A+; I got the exact sweet and savoury flavor I imagined in my head before I took my first bite and that is so important to me when eating a spin-off of such classic flavors. And I whole-heartedly recommend this to anyone who wants a stand-up ice cream performance. Or a way to eat away unhappiness, because I most definitely cheered up. Just don’t eat the whole pint ;)

