Spiced hot chocolate, take 1

It seems to me that I’ve been on a drink kick lately. But after receiving a comment from Amy (on my previous post) in which she described her dilemma of not being able to find a good way to make homemade hot chocolate, I’ve decided to take it upon myself to find an easy but delicious recipe for chocolat chaud. I’m usually a Nestle (and sometimes Ghiradelli) girl, but this challenge appeals to my inner “always from scratch” girl.

But really, there is nothing better than a good mug of hot chocolate. There is also nothing worse than a bad mug of hot chocolate. The balance is so easily tipped from one extreme to the other…and I’ve had some pretty horrific experiences (namely a no-brand buy 1 box get, 2 free faux-chocolate mix that refused to mix into any type of liquid without constant vigorous stirring). But I’ve also had some pretty rockin’ experiences (like on a visit to Quebec City, where the hot chocolate was so thick and rich that a spoon was needed to scoop up the last dregs).

Um, I was crossing my fingers for a rockin’ experience here folks. Some beginner’s luck, maybe? I said pretty please with a cherry on top and batted my eyelashes as I mixed my concoction together…

Spiced Hot Chocolate, take 1

  • 1 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder
  • Dash of powdered ginger
  • Dash of cinnamon
  • About 1 1/2 tsp. granulated sugar
  • 1 cup of water

Overall, the main issue with this hot chocolate is the sweetness. Or rather, the bitterness that is so often the issue with homemade hot chocolate mixes. With that said, it’s not undrinkably bitter…it’s just not what powdered hot chocolate mix has been brought up to be (that is, ridiculously sweet) Other than the fact that I would love a bit more sweet, I’m loving the the flavor.  Had I not added the ginger and cinnamon, this would just have been a cup of bitter cocoa powder mixed into water. But there is much more depth here and I’m almost not missing the sugar.

The main selling point for me though, is the texture. It’s not runny chocolate mousse thick, like a good real melted chocolate + milk hot chocolate would be, but it surprisingly less liquid-y than store bought mixes.

Would I make it again? Sure, if I was in real need of a quick chocolate fix. Would I serve it to others? Probably not. But I’m still voluntarily sipping at it right now so it can’t be that horrendous.

